To Know and Be Known

“Know me and you’ll know the Father,” Jesus said.

“Know the truth and the truth will set you free”

“My sheep know My voice and they follow Me.”

What does it mean to know in my heart, not just in my head???

Like the woman at the well, all my sins and secrets Jesus can tell.

Like the woman dragged to Him, Jesus says my soul He doesn’t condemn.

My jaded heart, it says I dare not trust. “Keep your guard up,” it insists.

I don’t know how to just be;

I think I need to do, do, do but it’s never enough for my Father to love me.

He’s so holy and perfect and just,

I can never be enough.

Image result for leaning on jesus

“Come to Me and I will give you rest,” Jesus says.

But I don’t know how to lean on Him and rest.

On high alert I’m always ready to run

“Protect yourself,” my head demands.

But my heart way down deep yearns

To stay and rest.  Learn to love and be loved.

To talk to my Father, not in stilted fear

But freely speak as best of friends.

Like a Lover, my God pursues.

His Mercy, His Love, they never run out.

My name is engraved on the palm of His hands.

With compassionate arms open wide He stands

Ready to delight in me, to sing His love song over me.

PEACE – that’s what it means to KNOW in my HEART, not just in my head.

Photo credits: Google Images

2 thoughts on “To Know and Be Known

  1. So thankful to God for breaking the chains of fear and doubt around my heart.Truth brings so much freedom! And knowing truth brings peace to the heart!Praise God! Thank you for writing,Sara!

  2. Your gift for writing is inspiring Sara, thank you for sharing. I really connected with the part where you write to speak as best of friends and not out of fear. I often feel I’m not praying “right”. Those words encourage me that it nots a right or wrong but just being myself for him as he knows my heart.

Leave a Reply

