When an Arc of Vomit Is God’s Miracle

In the belly of a fish…

How much lower can I sink?

Acid swirling round; the fish or my soul – which has the most stink?

Gastric contents churning, burning my flesh, stinging my eyes.

Anger, pride, fear, hopelessness  mock me amidst all my whys.

Hours creep by, there is no rescue in sight.

No distress call to humans possible, no hope for respite.

Agonizing minutes tick slowly by

As I look my inevitable death in the eye.

But then God…

God whispers to me amidst the gurgling sounds of death by slow digestion.

He comes to me with gentle question.

“Why, Jonah, why did you run from Me?

I love you and I have dreams for you, don’t you see?

I never meant for you to be in agony of disobedience, in the throes of indigestion.

My plans for you are commands not mere suggestion.

Cry out to me, bend your knees and repent.

My rescue and mercy I’ve already sent.”

I looked around and all I could see is entrapment.

Trapped in my choices, my pride, my resentment.

But at last I bent my knees and I prayed.

Prayed for God to do whatever it takes to get me out.

And suddenly I’m arcing through the air, dripping with fishy stomach contents.

Stinky, smelly, soaked in juices I didn’t even want to think about.

But there I lay on dry land, redeemed.

Granted a second chance I didn’t deserve.

Three long days drowning in the acid of hell

And finally I understood God’s love in a way I could truly tell.

 

Leave a Reply

