“Grace, She Comes With a Heavy Load”

grace_group-600x400

I was listening to Needtobreathe last night and this song stood out to me.

A Place Only You Can Go

Pain is alive in a broken heart
The past never does go away
We were born to love
And we’re born to pay
The price for our mistakes

Grace, she comes with a heavy load
Memories, they can’t be erased
Like a pill I swallow, he makes me well
And leaves an awful taste

Oh I know this song won’t do
Enough to prove my love to you
In my heart you’ll always know
There is a place only love can go
There is a place only you can go

Take my notions and words to heart
This is the cry of a man
I can’t bring you fortune or noble life
But I’ll love you all I can

Oh I know this song won’t do
Enough to prove my love to you
In my heart you’ll always know
There is a place only you can go

Oh I know this song won’t do
Enough to prove my love to you
In my heart you’ll always know
There is a place only love can go
There is a place only you can go

Grace – so much packed into so small of a word.  Only Jesus knows how much grace cost him; He and I alone only know how much grace costs me. Grace, it’s both wild and dangerous yet welcoming and safe.  Every day, I choose to allow either grace to be my easy yoke with my Jesus, or I choose to allow shame to weigh me down, resting on my shoulders alone.  You see, grace may come with a heavy load of indebtedness and unworthiness but Jesus is there taking the burden on him, walking beside me in his tender grace.  Grace costs me in that in order to fully receive grace, I need to admit I am a needy person, a sin-filled wretch who is a beggar outside the courts of my Holy God.  Once I pay the price of giving up my pride and receiving grace, I enter into the presence of my Holy God with boldness as a daughter protected by His Son’s grace.

The music of the word Grace in my heart, speaks to me of pure Love; Love that I can’t understand.  It sings to me of Forgiveness; Forgiveness of which I am not worthy.  Mercy is the melody in this song of Grace; Mercy in granting hundreds of second chances.  Freedom adds the harmony to this hymn of Grace; Freedom to lift my head high in defiance of shame; Freedom to break loose from the chains of sin’s addictions and spread my wings and fly.

Because of Amazing Grace, I am a prisoner set free, a blind person given back her sight.  Because of Amazing Grace, Jesus has a place in my heart that only He can go; a place reserved for him because my heart, life, and devotion are all that I have to offer.

May Grace and Peace be upon you all in this Christmas season of Joy.

Leave a Reply

