Five Minute Friday: Release

Once again joining up with Five Minute Friday with Lisa Jo Baker.  Today’s word prompt is “Release”

When I think of release, I think of letting something go or of being set free from something.  True release occurs in and through Jesus.  Without Jesus, my soul can’t experience release from sin’s bondage.  Without Jesus, I can’t truly let go of my bitterness, my anger, my lust, my unforgiving spirit, my fears, my doubts, my grief, my pain.

So many times I am held captive by my own choice.  I choose to close my fists angrily and hang on to whatever struggle I’m in.  I choose to spurn Jesus’ outstretched hand of freedom.  I stubbornly refuse to release the anger, or whatever it may be, by spreading open my hands and releasing those sins, those doubts, that anger to Jesus redemptive freedom.

In this season of struggle, I am committed to release my heart to Jesus and through Him experience true release, true freedom.  And may you, dear friend, also in Him find true release from whatever may be holding your soul captive these days.

John 8:31-36

31 So Jesus said to the Jews who had believed him, “If you abide in my word, you are truly my disciples, 32 and you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free. 33 They answered him, “We are offspring of Abraham and have never been enslaved to anyone. How is it that you say, ‘You will become free’?”  34 Jesus answered them, “Truly, truly, I say to you, everyone who practices sin is a slave to sin. 35 The slave does not remain in the house forever; the son remains forever. 36 So if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed.  (emphasis mine)

 

Linkup with Lisa Jo Baker: http://lisajobaker.com/

 

 

4 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Release

  1. I agree that without Jesus, there would be little release from angst in this world. Horses are so perfect. The first horse I fell for was a huge Palomino, who was a plow horse on a neighboring farm. I love what they do when they are released into a pasture. They run and run, almost cavorting, and they sometimes drop down and rub their backs into the grasses. Lovely post!

Leave a Reply

